The Evil of Duty

I heard somewhere that there is evil in being dutiful. We go through our lives as taught by the ones who raise us or as dictated by the ones we fear. Sure it results in someone’s happiness but never for the dutiful.

For the most part, I go through life being careful and making sure that everyone is pleased with my actions. I was molded into this person by the people before me. The values they put on what is the right thing to do has been passed down to me. There is no doubt in my mind that those values shall then be passed on to those who come after me.

Unless, that little voice in the back of my mind can find the Moxie to fight. 

I dream of the day that I do what makes me happy and not worry of what others think. I dream of the day when my actions are not judged by some pre-established norm. I dream of the day when I don’t have to feel like I have to fit a mold. I dream of the day when I can tell those who come after me that there is more value in following what makes you happy.

Most of all, I dream of the day when I can let go and just be me.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

